ERES-Stiftung

No Secrets!

The Allure and Hazards of Monitoring Ourselves

Exhibition. Lectures.

23 March – 16 July 2017

Project

All around the world we’re online, digitally connected as never before and at the same time we deplore the loss of our privacy. Paradoxically, we ourselves are to blame because it is our day-to-day routines that contribute to this phenomenon. We generate a flood of digital information that feeds existing and future surveillance systems. The results of big data analyses have long been used by security agencies, insurance and IT companies, big business and the pharmaceutical industry.

We willingly use apps, trackers and sensors to monitor ourselves. From hormones to heart rates, from sleeping patterns to mood swings, we attempt to optimize our lives by recording personal data. We want to be thinner, healthier and more productive and want our lives, day in and day out, to be as efficient and comfortable as possible. These practical digital aids are the welcome quick fix to those longings. Behavioral patterns, characteristics and idiosyncrasies are recorded and analyzed. We take the consequences in stride or ignore them entirely. As a popular activity tracker’s marketing slogan so aptly puts it: »We know you better than you know yourself«.

The data we divulge today, consciously or not, determines the way we will view ourselves in the future. This is because current methods of monitoring data not only show us and others where we are now but also increasingly influence where we are headed and how we will conduct ourselves in the future.

In the »No Secrets!« project, which the ERES Foundation is putting on in association with the Munich Stadtmuseum, scientists and artists will be shedding light on this current situation and asking pertinent questions. How can this widespread acceptance of surveillance be explained? Can this development be evaded without forgoing a lifestyle that is the norm? What dangers lie in this trend toward transparency? And in this digital world we now inhabit, do we have the right to forget?

The exhibition consists of ten contemporary artists presenting videos, photography, installations and textile art in which they address the topic of biometric technology.

Accompanying the exhibition is a catalog (160 pages) with numerous illustrations as well as essays by Dietmar Kammerer, Klaus Mainzer, Frank Pasquale, Daniela Stöppel, Diana Tamir and others.

Image

Trevor Paglen, DMSB 5B/F4 from Pyramid Lake Indian Reservation (Military Meteorological Satellite: 1973-054A), 2009
© the artist, Courtesy Kunstsammlungen Augsburg, H2 – Zentrum für Gegenwartskunst

ERES-Stiftung

No Secrets!

Reiz und Gefahr digitaler Selbstüberwachung

Ausstellung. Vorträge.

23. März – 16. Juli 2017

Projekt

Überall online und digital vernetzt, beklagen wir den Verlust unserer Privatsphäre. Schuld daran sind paradoxerweise wir selbst, die mit unseren täglichen, oft leichtfertigen Gewohnheiten diesen Verlust befördern. Wir erzeugen eine Flut digitaler Informationen und speisen damit gegenwärtige und künftige Überwachungssysteme. Längst nutzen Sicherheitsbehörden, Versicherungen, IT-, Handels- oder Pharmakonzerne die Ergebnisse von Big Data-Analysen.

Mit Apps, Trackern und Sensoren kontrollieren wir bereitwillig uns selbst. Indem wir vom Hormonhaushalt zur Herzfrequenz, vom Schlafverhalten bis zum Gemütszustand Daten protokollieren, versuchen wir, uns selbst zu optimieren. Wir wollen schlanker, gesünder und leistungsstärker werden und unseren Alltag so effizient und bequem wie möglich gestalten. Die praktischen digitalen Helfer kommen diesen Wünschen spielend entgegen. Verhaltensmuster des Lebens, Eigenheiten und Ticks werden aufgezeichnet und analysiert. All das nehmen wir willentlich in Kauf oder blenden es aus. Treffend formuliert das der Slogan eines Fitness-Trackers: »We know you better than yourself«.

Die Daten, die wir heute bewusst oder unbewusst preisgeben, bestimmen auch unser zukünftiges Selbstbild – unser »future self(ie)«. Denn die Mittel der Datenüberwachung zeigen uns und anderen nicht nur, wo wir uns aktuell befinden. Zunehmend steuern sie auch, wohin wir uns bewegen und wie wir uns in Zukunft verhalten.

In dem Projekt »No secrets!«, das die ERES-Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem Münchner Stadtmuseum realisiert, beleuchten Wissenschaftler und Künstler das aktuelle Phänomen: Wie lässt sich die Bereitschaft zur Selbstüberwachung erklären? Kann man sich dieser Entwicklung entziehen, ohne auf die Teilnahme an einem »zeitgemäßen« Leben verzichten zu müssen? Welche Gefahren birgt der Hang – oder Zwang – zur Transparenz? Gibt es in der digitalen Welt ein Recht auf Vergessen?

Gezeigt werden zehn zeitgenössische Positionen, die sich mit Videos, Fotografie, Installationen und Textilarbeiten mit dem Thema Selbstüberwachung auseinandersetzen.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein gemeinsamer Katalog, ca. 160 Seiten, mit zahlreichen Abbildungen und Texten von Dietmar Kammerer, Klaus Mainzer, Frank Pasquale, Daniela Stöppel, Diana Tamir und anderen.

Image

Trevor Paglen, DMSB 5B/F4 from Pyramid Lake Indian Reservation (Military Meteorological Satellite: 1973-054A), 2009
© the artist, Courtesy Kunstsammlungen Augsburg, H2 – Zentrum für Gegenwartskunst

Newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter